Form your conscience in advance of the November election, with help from Arlington Bishop Paul S. Loverde.
Diocese honors youth ministers
For the Catholic Herald
Courtesy photo
Doug Johnson (center), a parishioner of St. John Neumann Parish in Reston, receives the Excellence in Youth Ministry Award from Arlington Bishop Paul S. Loverde (right) while Paul Bevins, WorkCamp projects coordinator for the Office of Youth Ministry, shares details of Johnson’s service during last week’s Youth and Campus Ministry Appreciation Mass and Dinner in Herndon.

Many of those involved with youth and campus ministry across the Arlington Diocese gathered Dec. 14 for the seventh annual Youth and Campus Ministry Appreciation Mass and Dinner. Over 300 adults braved the bitter cold, driving winds and Northern Virginia traffic delays to gather at St. Joseph Parish in Herndon to celebrate the great work being done with young people in the diocese. The event was sponsored by the diocesan Office of Youth Ministry.

Arlington Bishop Paul S. Loverde celebrated the Mass and shared inspiring reflections on the Youth Office’s theme for the year, “Built on Christ,” taken from Colossians 2:7. The bishop said he was grateful to all attendees for the countless hours they committed to serving the young Church of today. He thanked the priests in attendance for their direction and support of youths in their parishes and campus ministry programs.

The focus then shifted to those who have worked tirelessly to bring young people to Christ. Twenty-five individuals were presented with Volunteer of the Year Awards from their parish, Catholic high school or campus ministry. The recipients were nominated by a parish coordinator of youth ministry or a school administrator for their service over the past year. Each received a plaque and a rose during the celebration.

In addition, the bishop presented diocesan awards for other youth workers who have excelled in their ministry and generously served young people in the diocese.

The Excellence in Youth Ministry Award was presented to Michael Paul from the Cathedral of St. Thomas More in Arlington, Margaret Matarese of St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Parish in Fredericksburg, and Doug Johnson of St. John Neumann Parish in Reston.

McLean’s Youth Apostles Institute presented the St. Maria Goretti Award to Laura Schaefer from Marymount University in Arlington, the St Dominic Savio Award to Daniel Muñiz of the Don Bosco Center, and the St. John Bosco Award to Tiffany Lambert of All Saints Parish. Father Peter Nassetta, the bishop’s liaison to campus ministry, presented the Ex Corde Award (from the heart) to Marymount’s Meg Dalmut for demonstrating exemplary service or support to college campus ministry.

Maris Mattingly was given the Bishop Loverde Award for her exceptional volunteer service to diocesan youth ministry. The award, given for the first time last year, is named after Arlington’s third bishop because of his vision and commitment to build a strong Office of Youth Ministry.

Lastly, Denny Kline of Paul VI Catholic High School in Fairfax was presented with the More Award, named after the diocese’s patron, St. Thomas More. This lifetime achievement award is presented annually to those who have made significant contributions to youth or campus ministry over the course of their lifetime. Kline’s 26 years as campus minister at Paul VI have had an impact on the lives of more than 6,000 students, faculty and staff members.

The evening included a year-end video highlighting the many youth events across the diocese in 2010. The dinner was largely donated and prepared by the Youth Apostles.

To nominate youth workers, coaches, Scouting leaders, religious educators or priests for next year’s awards call the Office of Youth Ministry at 703/8412559.

Volunteer of the Year Awards were presented to:

Everardo and Alexandra Luevano, All Saints Parish in Manassas

Mike Isenberg, Cathedral of St. Thomas More in Arlington

Greg Mohl, Don Bosco Center in Manassas

Barbara McAdams, Good Shepherd Parish in Alexandria

Lisa Miller, Holy Family Parish in Dale City

Julie Piché, Holy Spirit Parish in Annandale

Sean Murphy, Holy Trinity Parish in Gainesville

Ann Marie Railing, Marymount University Campus Ministry in Arlington

Carolyn Doescher, Our Lady of Hope Parish in Potomac Falls

Tom Hedderson, Paul VI Catholic High School in Fairfax

Dianne Anderson, Sacred Heart Parish in Manassas

Richard Couture, Sacred Heart

Sherman Patrick, St. Charles Borromeo Parish in Arlington

Shaileen Backman, St. Francis de Sales Parish in Purcellville

Marissa Johannes, St. James Parish in Falls Church

George Dellagiarino, St. John Neumann Parish in Reston

JoAnn Tolle, St. John the Apostle Parish in Leesburg

Jeff & Diane Doughty, St. John the Baptist Parish in Front Royal

Mary Brough, St. Joseph Parish in Herndon

Greg Kava, St. Leo the Great Parish in Fairfax

Tim Schaad, St. Mark Parish in Vienna

Paul Cicotello, St. Mary of Sorrows Parish in Fairfax

Jeanne Bergeron, St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Parish in Fredericksburg

Chris Wist, St. Thomas à Becket Parish in Reston

Steve Vivirito, St. Timothy Parish in Chantilly


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter