Our website is made possible by displaying online ads to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our site.

Diocesan students named National Merit semifinalists, AP scholars

Students at the five diocesan high schools have been named AP scholars, as well as National Merit semifinalists. The National Merit Scholarship competition begins with the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, taken in the fall of junior year. Of the approximately 1.6 million entrants, only 15,000 become finalists.


Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School in Dumfries

National AP scholars: Mason Notz and Katherine Taylor

93 total AP scholars


Bishop Ireton High School in Alexandria

81 total AP scholars

National AP scholars: Braden Hoagland and Christopher Nguyen

National Merit semifinalist: Timothy App


Bishop O’Connell High School in Arlington

157 total AP scholars

National AP scholars: Matthew Ehlers, Zehao Li, Grace Marinaro, Caitlin Mea, Anne Sampogna, Holden Snyder and Selene Swanson


St. Paul VI Catholic High School in Fairfax

108 total AP scholars

National AP Scholars: Nicolas Bocock, Sarah D'Esopo, Daniel Jacobs, Samantha Kelly, Seung Yun Lee and Theresa Sheehan

National Merit semifinalists: Chloe Martin, Maria Rechter and Theresa Sheehan


Seton School in Manassas

National AP scholars: Sean Kellogg, Joseph LaVigne and Caitlin Orr

© Arlington Catholic Herald 2018