Our website is made possible by displaying online ads to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our site.

Annual dinner honors service to youth

First slide
First slide
First slide
First slide
First slide
Previous Next

Every year, the diocesan Office of Youth, Campus, and Young Adult Ministries invites each parish, Catholic high school and campus ministry to honor outstanding volunteers who serve youth or young adults. The 18th annual Youth, Campus, and Young Adult Ministries appreciation dinner was held Dec. 14 at St. Joseph Church in Herndon.

“As we enter into this first year of preparation for our (diocesan) jubilee celebration, we are called to ‘remember’ the many blessings which have gotten us to this point in the diocese,” said Kevin Bohli, executive director of the office. “This was a great night to not only remember this past year of ministry, but also the past 47 years of people across the diocese who have given so generously of their time to bring young people closer to Christ.”

Bishop Michael F. Burbidge presented the following awards:

The Excellence in Youth Ministry Award was presented to Yoonhee Edwards, St. Paul Chung Church in Fairfax; and Derek and Bethany Rogers, Our Lady of Good Counsel Church in Vienna and St. John the Apostle Church in Leesburg.

The Ex Corde Award was presented to Maria Ammirati, George Mason University campus ministry in Fairfax.

The Excellence in Young Adult Ministry Award was presented to Sabrina McCormack, St. John the Apostle Church in Leesburg, Young Adult Ministry.

The Bishop Loverde Award was presented to Mark Kramer, Catholic Committee on Scouting.

The Volunteer of the Year Award: “For Outstanding Volunteer Service”

The award honors an outstanding volunteer who labors at the service of youth or young adults.

Christa Owen, All Saints Catholic Church in Manassas;

Courtney Horwat, Basilica of St. Mary in Alexandria;

Anthony Criste, Christendom College in Front Royal;

Nancy Fondriest, Good Shepherd Church in Alexandria;

Madeline Demarco, Marymount University in Arlington;

Brigid Williams, Church of the Nativity in Burke;

Chabeli Diaz Wells, Our Lady, Queen of Peace Church in Arlington;

Alice Radjou, Shenandoah University in Winchester;

Deacon Robert Renner, St. Charles Borromeo Church in Arlington;

Dan and Lindsay Glass, St. Francis de Sales Church in Purcellville;

Nick Buck, St. John Neumann Church in Reston;

Alison Tett, St. John the Apostle Church in Leesburg;

Christy Williams, St. John the Evangelist Church in Warrenton;

Kelly Power, St. Joseph Church in Herndon;

Doug Fehrer, St. Leo the Great Church in Fairfax;

Matthew Housley, St. Mark Church in Vienna;

Jerry and Mary Lenaburg, St. Mary of Sorrows Church in Fairfax;

Iris Agnes Cho, St. Paul Chung Church in Fairfax;

Tom Pell, St. Paul VI Catholic High School in Chantilly;

Jill Bender, St. Veronica Church in Chantilly; and

Christine White, St. William of York Church in Stafford.

© Arlington Catholic Herald 2021