Our website is made possible by displaying online ads to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our site.

Msgr. Cassidy, Fr. Trinkle Retire, New Mission Established

Seven new pastors and administrators were among the 33 clergy appointments announced June 7 by Arlington Bishop Paul S. Loverde. The bishop also established a new mission church, St. Jude in Fredericksburg, and appointed Father David L. Martin its administrator. All appointments are effective June 25, unless otherwise stated. (See complete list of clergy appointments on page two.) Msgr. Thomas J. Cassidy, pastor of St. Francis de Dales Parish in Purcellville, and Father Clarence M. Trinkle, administrator of Our Lady of the Shenandoah Mission in Bayse, retired from active ministry. Father Patrick L. Posey will return from service at the Diocesan Mission in Banica, Dominican Republic, to become pastor of St. Francis de Sales Parish. Father Joseph A. Salazar, M.S.A., will become administrator of Our Lady of the Shenandoah Mission. Father George J. Griffin will move from pastor of Good Shepherd Parish in Alexandria to pastor of St. Isidore the Farmer Parish in Orange. Father Charles C. McCoart will leave as executive director of Catholic Charities to become pastor of Good Shepherd Parish. Father John F. O?Connor, O.F.M., longtime pastor of St. Francis of Assisi Parish in Triangle, will assume new duties for the Franciscan Friars of the Holy Name Province. He will be replaced by Father John J. Marino, O.F.M. The three men ordained by Bishop Loverde on June 7 received their first assignments as parochial vicars: Father Edward R. Horkan at Holy Spirit in Annandale; Father Joel D. Jaffe at Blessed Sacrament in Alexandria; and Father Mark Mullaney at St. Theresa in Ashburn. Deacon Augustine Minh Hai Tran, who was ordained May 31, also was assigned to Holy Spirit Parish. Father Robert J. DeMartino will leave St. Philip Parish in Falls Church to replace Father Jerry Pokorsky as administrator of St. Peter Mission in Washington. Father Pokorsky has been reassigned to the Diocese of Lincoln, Neb. As announced earlier, Father Matthew J. Hillyard, O.S.F.S., will become the new principal of Bishop Ireton High School in Alexandria. He will replace Father Kevin J. Nadolski, who will become Province Vocation Director for the Oblates of Saint Frances De Sales in Washington, D.C. Father Joseph T. Brennan, O.S.F.S., will move from parochial vicar of St. John Neumann Parish in Reston to chaplain at Bishop Ireton. Father Richard A. Mullins was appointed associate director of the Spanish Apostolate, with residence at St. Rita Parish in Alexandria. Father Daniel J. Maher will also be in residence at St. Rita Church. Father David A. Whitestone was appointed Adjutant Judicial Vicar of the Diocesan Tribunal with a change of residence from St. Mary of Sorrows in Fairfax Station to St. Charles Borromeo in Arlington.

Copyright ?2003 Arlington Catholic Herald.  All rights reserved.

© Arlington Catholic Herald 2003