Our website is made possible by displaying online ads to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our site.

Office of Youth Ministry awards the men and women that serve youths

First slide
First slide
First slide
First slide
First slide
First slide
Previous Next

More than 530 people packed into the dining hall of St. Joseph School in Herndon Tuesday night to honor the many volunteers, teachers, coaches, youth ministers and campus ministers who tirelessly labor to bring Christ to the youths of the Arlington Diocese. The diocesan Office of Youth Ministry hosted its 13th annual Youth and Campus Ministry Appreciation Dinner Dec. 13.

The night began with Mass at St. Joseph Church celebrated by newly installed Bishop Michael F. Burbidge. 

“Above all, persevere, so that we may be bearers of God’s love." Bishop Michael F. Burbidge

“This diocese has a superb reputation across the nation,” said Bishop Burbidge in his homily. “Hopefully tonight is a night of renewal.” 

He offered five ways for those involved in youth ministry to strengthen their commitment to youths: prayer, mercy, humility, charity and perseverance.

“Above all, persevere, so that we may be bearers of God’s love,” he said.  

Closing in prayer, Bishop Burbidge asked for the intercessions of St. Lucy, whose feast day was Dec. 13, and St. Teresa of Kolkata, whose words “I will love” are the Office of Youth Ministry’s theme this year. Following the Mass, there was an appreciation dinner at St. Joseph School prepared by the Annandale High School culinary arts class. 

Kevin Bohli, director of the Office of Youth Ministry, opened the night in gratitude to the many people who have supported youths in the diocese. 

“Nobody embodies (I will love) more than you do,” he said to the attendees. 

Forty-eight Volunteer of the Year Awards and seven certifications in the Apostolate of Catholic Youth Ministry were presented by the bishop. 

Among the winners of the Excellence in Youth Ministry was Miguel De Angel, a former comic artist who uses his talents in illustrations to create spiritual reflections for the youths at Good Shepherd Church in Alexandria. 

More than a dozen people crowded the stage from Way, the high school youth ministry, and On the Way, the middle school youth ministry of St. Charles Borromeo Church in Arlington, to receive the award of Excellence in Youth Ministry for their 16 years of Catholic formation.

Bishop O’Connell High School graduate and cancer-survivor Stephanie Salinas, received the Blessed Chiara Badano Award for her involvement and dedication to the youths of St. Ann Church in Arlington.

The final award, the More Award, was bestowed on Father Robert C. Cilinski, pastor of the Church of the Nativity in Burke. Kevin Bohli spoke about Father Cilinski’s long involvement with the diocese, from being the first chaplain of George Mason University’s Catholic Campus Ministry, building the largest church in the diocese — All Saints Church in Manassas, to his numerous acting performances in Upper Room Theatre Ministry in Manassas. 

Bishop Burbidge said, “I truly believe through this event that the Lord wants you to hear the good work that you’ve done.” 


Award winners

Certification in the Apostolate of Catholic Youth Ministry:

Claireen Enciso, Our Lady of Good Counsel Church

Alison Fram, Church of the Nativity

Erin Johnson, St. Veronica Church

Tim Judge, Holy Trinity Church

Alex Kubik, St. Louis Church

Ingrid Sanchez-Seymour, Church of the Nativity

Mark Stinard, St. Mary of Sorrows Church

Volunteer of the Year Award:

Ben Jacobeen, All Saints Church

David Owens, Bishop O’Connell High School

Jill Williams, Bishop O’Connell High School

Gustav Chiarello, Blessed Sacrament Church

Paul Kopp, Blessed Sacrament Church

Lorrie Brown, Cathedral of St. Thomas More

Ed Myers, Christ Redeemer Church

Courtney VanNuys, Christ the Redeemer Church

Jack and Linda Emerson, Church of the Nativity

Tony and Jennifer Gonzalez, Church of the Nativity

Arnold and Jill Lee, Church of the Nativity

William Hargenrader, Corpus Christi Church

Alexander Salmeron, Don Bosco Center

EJ Bernabe, Filipino Ministry 

Nelson Gomez, Good Shepherd Church

Paul Hegele, Holy Family Church

Leslie McClellan, Holy Spirit Church

Adry Albizures, Holy Trinity Church

Sarah Hall, Marymount University Catholic Campus Ministry 

Amy Winkler, Our Lady of Good Counsel Church

George Litman, Paul VI High School

Marianne Gordon, Sacred Heart of Jesus Church

Brian and Connie Frank, St. Ambrose Church

Mike Riley, St. Ambrose Church

Jenny Rowello, St. Andrew the Apostle Church

Paul Miller, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Church

Jane Treado, St. Francis de Sales Church

Erin Welch, St. Francis of Assisi Church

Anneliese Lohmeyer, St. John Neumann Church

Carey Aquilina, St. John the Apostle Church

Tracy Malito, St. Joseph Church

Tom Miller, St. Jude Church

Noelle Harmon, St. Jude Church

Niamh Lowry, St. Leo the Great Church

Christine Silva, St. Leo the Great Church

Alexandra Cribbin, St. Mark Church

Gregory Smith, St. Mary Church

Lauren McCook, St. Mary of Sorrows Church

Regina Hiney, St. Patrick Church

Andrew Oh, St. Paul Chung Church

Theresa Lee, St. Paul Chung Church

Rosaria Shin, St. Paul Chung Church

Dan Rogers, St. Stephen the Martyr Church

Paul Hogan, St. Thomas à Becket Church

John Walsh St. Thomas à Becket Church

Molly Hunter, St. Timothy Church

Joseph Scali, St. Timothy Church

Nghia Tran, St. Veronica Church

Excellence in Youth Ministry Awards:

Miguel De Angel, Good Shepherd Church

Tom Marino, Sacred Heart of Jesus Church

Way & On the Way, St. Charles Borromeo Church

Blessed Chiara Badano Award

Stephanie Salinas, St. Ann Church

St. José Sánchez de Río Award

Andrew Donofrio, St. Francis de Sales Church

Ex Corde Award

Sr. Patricia Helen Earl, IHM, Marymount University

The Bishop Loverde Award

Patrick Berney, Catholic Committee on Scouting

The More Award

Fr. Robert C. Cilinski, Church of the Nativity


© Arlington Catholic Herald 2016