Our website is made possible by displaying online ads to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our site.

Bishops to vote for USCCB president, vice president

WASHINGTON — U.S. bishops are scheduled to elect the next president and vice president of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops at their upcoming fall general assembly taking place Nov. 14-16 in Baltimore.

Each office is elected from a slate of 10 candidates who have been nominated by their fellow bishops.

Released by the USCCB, the slate of candidates for president and vice president are as follows: Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond of New Orleans, Archbishop Charles J. Chaput of Philadelphia, Archbishop Paul S. Coakley of Oklahoma City, Cardinal Daniel N. DiNardo of Galveston-Houston, Bishop Daniel E. Flores of Brownsville, Texas, Archbishop Jose H. Gomez of Los Angeles, Archbishop William E. Lori of Baltimore, Archbishop Allen H. Vigneron of Detroit, Archbishop Thomas G. Wenski of Miami and Archbishop John C. Wester of Santa Fe, New Mexico.

The president and vice president are elected to three-year terms, which begin at the conclusion of the general assembly.

The current president, Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz of Louisville, Ky., and the current vice president, Cardinal DiNardo, will complete their terms.

© Arlington Catholic Herald 2016